Scientific Advisors

At Micron we work with key opinion leaders to enhance our service offering to the drug development industry. Our advisors are as follows.

Nuclear Medicine

Yoshiharu Yonekura, MD
Senior Scientific Advisor at Micron

Dr. Yoshiharu Yonekura is the Emeritus Professor at University of Fukui, the Honorary Director at Hamamatsu Medical Imaging Center of Hamamatsu Medical Photonics Foundation, and the Guest Professor at Institute for Radiation Sciences, Osaka University.

Dr. Yonekura has served as the President of Japanese Society of Nuclear Medicine, the Chair of International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP) Task Group 101; Radiological Protection in Therapy with Radiopharmaceuticals and ICRP Task Group 87; Radiological Protection in Ion Beam Radiotherapy, the Chair of United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR), and the Council member of Science Council of Japan. He has also served as President of the National Institute of Radiological Sciences, Japan.

Dr. Yonekura has received his MD and Ph.D. at Kyoto University School of Medicine. He has been awarded The Order of the Sacred Treasure, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon, Kuhl-Lassen Lectureship Award of Society of Nuclear Medicine (U.S.A.) and Japanese Society of Nuclear Medicine Award. Dr. Yonekura also has published 3 books, 52 book chapters as well as 385 peer reviewed articles in English.

Neuro Radiology

Kohsuke Kudo, MD

Dr. Kohsuke Kudo is a Professor at the Department of Diagnostic Imaging, Hokkaido University Graduate School of Medicine.

He specializes in neuroradiology and has vast research experience. Dr. Kudo developed software that integrates CT and MRI technologies for the high-speed image analysis of cerebral blood flow (perfusion). In 2006, he released PMA (Perfusion Mismatch Analyzer) as free software. Subsequently, PMAneo was approved by Japanese regulatory authorities in 2019 and also recieved medical device registration approval in Taiwan in 2022.

Recently, with the launch of new dementia treatments, issues related to ARIA (Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities) readings have been highlighted. Dr. Kudo is a leading authority on ARIA readings in Japan.

Dr. Kudo is a member of several pretigious organizations, including the Japan Society for CNS Computed Imaging, the Japanese Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism, the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine, the Japanese Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine, the Japanese Society of Neuroradiology, the Radiological Society of North America, and the Japan Radiological Society. He has also published many papers on medical imaging.

Dr. Kudo received his Ph.D. from Hokkaido University School of Medicine.

Dr. Kudo has received several awards throughout his career, including the Excellent Paper Award by the Japanese Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine in 2019, the JJR Excellent Reviewer Award by the Japanese Society of Radiology in 2018, the Academic Encouragement Award by the Japanese Society of Magnetic Resonance Imaging in 2012, the Silver Award by the Japanese Society of Neuroradiology in 2010, and many more.


Tomohiro Iida, MD

Dr. Tomohiro Iida is Professor & Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, Tokyo Women’s Medical University, Tokyo, Japan. He is specialized in macular disease such as age-related macular degeneration, vitreoretinal disease, and imaging techniques. He is a member of the Macula Society, the Club Jules Gonin, the American Academy of Ophthalmology, Japanese Ophthalmological Society, and Japanese Retina and Vitreous Society. He is also a Board Certified Ophthalmologist and a Certified Ophthalmologist Educator by the Japanese Ophthalmological Society.

Dr. Iida received his MD at Gunma University. He is authorized as an Ophthalmologist and a supervisor from the Japanese Ophthalmological Society. He also has served numbers of important positions in many societies, including the President of Japanese Society for Ocular Circulation, the Executive Director of Japanese Ophthalmological Society, the Director of Japanese Retina and Vitreous Society, the trustee of International Ocular Circulation Society and the Council Member/Regional Secretary of Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology.